20150122_134522

I’ve been enjoying a Sourdough starter that’s credited to a woman who was a pioneer at our local university. I don’t bake as often as I’d like (largely because I love bread!) but you have to use Sourdough or it dies. I discovered this lovely coffee cake that’s really easy.  The only change I’ve made is a substitution of sugar and Splenda for honey, because honey is expensive and I wanted to cut back the sugar a bit.

For information on the care and feeding of Sourdough starter, I recommend the University of Alaska Farbanks Cooperative Extension’s Sourdough pamphlet (you’ll download an PDF).

Sourdough Apple Cinnamon Coffee Cake

CAKE:
1 cup ‘fed’ sourdough starter
1/4 cup oil20150122_124928
1/4 cup water
1 egg
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup Splenda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1-1/2 cups apples, peeled cored and diced

TOPPING:
2 tbsp butter, softened
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup oats
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375°F (350°F for a dark pan). Grease an 8-inch round an 8 or 9-inch square pan.

Place starter in a large mixing bowl.  Add all remaining ingredients for the cake and stir gently until well blended. Pour batter into prepared pan.

Mix all topping ingredients in a small bowl until they form crumbs.  Sprinkle crumbs over top of cake.

Bake for about 35-40 minutes until center is set and toothpick comes out clean.

This is delightful warm with whipped cream of vanilla ice cream, and still very nice served cold.

