Kiddo and I made peanut butter cookies toady! Nope, you’re never too old…

Cook 10 Rats

We woke up to -44° today.  Kiddo’s orchestra practice is cancelled at -40°, so today became a day of pajamas and video games. We took a time out to bake Kiddo’s favorite cookie.

20150207_152939With peanut butter cookies there are only a couple of variables. The biggest one, of course, is the peanut butter. If your peanut butter is blah when your cookies won’t have good flavor. Crunchy or smooth is entirely up to you; I love chunky peanut butter, but the boys prefer smooth (my goodness, they must be changelings!). To experiment with the sugar ratios or explore the effect of butter versus shortening, I highly recommend the chocolate chip cookie science over at Baker Bettie.

This is 12 recipe from my 1975 edition of the Joy of Cooking, which I’ve been using since I was 11 or 12 years old.

Peanut Butter Cookies

Preheat oven to 375°.

View original post 139 more words

