20150709_201939Sometimes I wonder who invents recipes. I mean, you have your Chef Ramseys and Julia Childs and Wolfgang Pucks, but I think most recipes start with some homemaker looking in the cupboard and saying “What I can I do with basil and brown sugar?”

The question today is “Who invented the crumble?” You might know it as a crisp, and it’s kind of an anti-pie. You take seasonal fruit, mix in sugar, then make a crumbly topping. I suspect that someone was trying to whip up a cobbler out of available ingredients and ended up with this crumbly yummy.

In Alaska we use a lot of rhubarb for crumbles. It’s an extremely tart vegetable with lots of sneaky minerals and stuff. I had rhubarb and some blueberries and strawberries. I used this recipe from Cooking Amid Chaos, and made it in a 9×9 pan because I like mine thicker. I also increased the sugar a tad because BOY that rhubarb was tart!

Rhubarb, Strawberry and Blueberry Crisp

2 cups rhubarb, cut into small pieces
2 cups strawberries, cut into pieces
2 cups blueberries
1/4 – 1 1/2 cup sugar (to taste)
1 cup flour
1 cup rolled oats
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup melted butter
Combine fruit and sugar in greased 9×13 pan. If you would like a thicker crisp, just put fruit in a smaller dish.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, oats, salt, sugar and butter. Sprinkle oat mix on top of fruit. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 40 minutes or until fruit is bubbling and the top is golden brown (you may have to bake it a little longer when using frozen fruit). Let rest 30 minutes to an hour before serving, it’s hot! Serve with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.
20150709_215546--2
