20150212_103201While shopping yesterday I stumbled upon a bounty of markdown chicken at Safeway. They mark it down because it’s on or near the sell-by date. No problem, because I have a Foodsaver and a big freezer! I have been waiting for a deal on boneless, skinless chicken breasts and so I bought a bunch. Five packs, in fact, each with five really huge chicken breasts.

Usually when freezing bulk chicken breasts I put two in a Foodsaver pack. But what I really like is the way Tyson does their warehouse packs: individually frozen breasts in a big zipper bag. They’re super convenient for lunches or stir fry, and they thaw fast. With five packs of chicken needing to be processed I thought I’d give it a try.

20150212_103102

Cover a sheet pan with parchment paper. Waxed paper might work too, but I’ve never tried it. Rinse the chicken breast under cool water and pat dry with paper towels. Lay the breast as flat as you can on the parchment paper.  Be sure the breasts aren’t touching, because they will freeze together.

Freeze the chicken overnight. Transfer to a zip-style freezer bag for easy access. Remember to label your bag with the date!

