20150205_195755

One of my favorite comfort foods is a Hot Fudge Pudding Cake I’ve made (and refined) since I was a kid. Tonight the boys and I are home and the temperature is working it’s way down toward -45F, so comfort food sounds good, but the kids don’t share my passion for chocolate overload. So we’re trying a Peanut Butter and Hot Fudge Pudding Cake. I started with this recipe from food.com and modified it a bit using what I’ve learned tweaking my original Hot Fudge version.

Peanut Butter & Hot Fudge Pudding Cake

Serves 4

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup milk20150205_192033
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/4 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup sugar
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup boiling water

In a medium mixing bowl stir together flour, the 1/4 cup sugar, and the baking powder. Add milk, oil, and vanilla, and stir until smooth. Stir in peanut butter. Transfer batter to an ungreased 1 1/2 quart casserole and spread it evenly.

In a small bowl stir together the 1/2 cup sugar and the cocoa powder. Sprinkle the mixture evenly over the batter. Pour the boiling water over the cocoa mixture. DO NOT STIR.

Bake in a 400 degree oven about 30 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted near the center of the cake comes out clean.

Let cool slightly (the sauce is VERY hot) and serve with whipped cream or ice cream.

You might think it’s burnt when it comes out, because the sauce has gotten under the cake and boiled, raising the cake up and leaving sauce all over the sides of the dish. Don’t worry, it’s fine!

20150205_195402

This is definitely four small servings. To make more I think you could double the batter mixture and use a 9×9″ pan, but put another pan under for a spill catcher.

Despite having no whipped or ice cream, Drake loved it and helped me finish it; Junior decided it wasn’t his flavor, but thought it made the house smell like cookies!

