Today I made my grandmother proud and baked up Italian Lemon Drop Cookies, better known as Anginetti. I followed this recipe from Food.com exactly, and they turned out perfectly.

Anginetti
(Italian Lemon Drop Cookies)

IngredientsItalian Cookies

Cookie Dough

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable shortening
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp lemon extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • sprinkles (optional)

Icing

  • 3 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp lemon extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. Cream together granulated sugar and shortening
  3. Add eggs and 1 1/2 tsp lemon extract; beat well
  4. Add flour, baking powder and salt; mix until dough is soft and sticky
  5. Scoop dough onto lightly greased baking sheet or parchment paper, about 2″ apart
  6. Bake 12-15 minutes or until light golden brown
  7. Allow to cool 2-3 minutes on pan before transferring to cooling racks
  8. For the icing, combine the confectioners’ sugar, water and remaining 1 tsp lemon extract; mix until smooth
  9. Frost the tops of each cookie with a brush or metal spatula; optionally add sprinkles at this time
  10. Allow icing to dry completely before stacking
  11. Store in an airtight container

 Recipe from Food.com

Most of the baking supplies.
The cookie dough fully mixed.
Scooped on the pan.. I made them a bit too thick, but that turned out okay.
The icing, which is AMAZING.. and so easy to make.
Finished Anginetti, complete with some edible glitter.
Nom nom nom.

My youngest child came to ask for a second cookie right after finishing the first. I told him that I was glad he liked them, but we shouldn’t eat them all in one night. He replied “I didn’t like them, mom. I LOVED them.” That’s a kid seal of approval, I think!

