Banana Pancakes

While no one in my home has a gluten allergy, I saw this recipe for easy pancakes that you make with just “one ripe banana and two eggs”, so I thought that’d be interesting to try. It turned out that I had two bananas, and both were pretty short, about 5″-5.5″ instead of the standard 7″-8″, so I attempted to double the recipe. Using four egg whites left it too thin, though, so I ended up tossing in 1 tbsp of bisquick to thicken it up. Three egg whites plus my shorter bananas would have sufficed and kept the recipe gluten free.

Long story long, here’s my revised doubled-up recipe!

Gluten Free Banana Pancakes

Ingredients

  • (2) 5″-6″ bananas
  • (3) egg whites
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon (optional)

Directions

  1. Slice your banana and mix it and the egg whites together
  2. If you’re using vanilla and cinnamon, add those; mix until blended well
  3. Spray a light coating of baking spray on your pan
  4. Use a 1/4 cup measuring cup and pour about half to three-quarters full of mixture onto pan, keeping flame at about medium
  5. Flip after 30-60 seconds… these are more difficult to flip than standard pancakes, so get as much of your spatula under it as you can
  6. Cook other side for 30-60 seconds and remove from pan, and enjoy!

Banana Pancakes

I refrigerated a few of the < 1/8th cup sized pancakes overnight and sent them with my husband to work today in a bento box. He sent me a text at lunch saying that “they were fan-friggin-tastic,” so I’ll take that as a win for keeping them chilled overnight!